Faces of Compassion - Table of Contents

Classic Bodhisattva Archetypes and Their Modern Expression — An Introduction to Mahayana Buddhism


List of Illustrations
Foreword by Joan Halifax

1. The Bodhisattva Ideal: Benefiting Beings    
2. Mahāyāna History: Major Sutras and Schools    
3. The Ten Transcendent Practices    
4. Śākyamuni As Bodhisattva: The Long Path to the Bodhi Tree    
5. Mañjuśri: Prince of Wisdom
6. Samantabhadra: Functioning in the World
7. Avalokiteśvara (Guanyin, Kannon): Heart of Compassion
8. Kṣitigarbha (Jizō): Monk As Earth Mother
9. Maitreya: Bodhisattva As Future Buddha
10. Vimalakīrti: The Thunderous Silence of the Unsurpassed Layman    
11. Beyond the Archetypal: Sustained Awakening    

Bodhisattva Archetypes Chart    
Selected, Annotated Bibliography
About the Author