The Wisdom Blog: Classic & Contemporary Buddhism


The Dalai Lama on Four Aspects of Nirvana

Wed, 12/03/2014 - 14:43 -- The Dalai Lama

Four Attributes of True Cessations

True cessations (nirodha-sacca, nirodha-satya) are the cessations of various levels of afflictions actualized by progressing through the paths to arhatship and full awakening. Afflictions are of two types: innate (sahaja) afflictions continue uninterruptedly from one lifetime to another, and conceptually acquired (parikalpita) afflictions are learned from incorrect philosophies. The final true cessation of an arhat, nirvāṇa—eradication of both acquired and innate afflictions—is the example of true cessations.

“The Enlightenment Game”: a story from Ajahn Brahm

Wed, 09/03/2014 - 11:24 -- Ajahn Brahm

107. The Enlightenment Game

When asked by a popular Buddhist magazine to write an article on enlightenment, I sent the following spoof on the TV show Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? To my surprise, the article was published.

Who Wants to Be Enlightened?

“Welcome Ladies and Gentlemen. Today on ABC (American Buddhist Channel) we present the final of Who Wants to Be Enlightened?