The Wisdom Blog: Classic & Contemporary Buddhism

Wisdom Academics

The Buddha’s Teachings, Freely Offered

Tue, 12/17/2013 - 15:06 -- Kestrel Slocombe

One of the most exciting features of our new website is the extensive selections we’re featuring from our Teachings of the Buddha series. These renowned translations from the Pali Discourses feature contributions of the American scholar-monk Bhikkhu Bodhi and are highly regarded by both scholars and general readers alike for their clarity and precision. Bhikkhu Bodhi himself hand-selected dozens of selections (totaling hundreds of the pages) from

Teachings of the Buddha: The Planes of Realization and Sariputta’s Lofty Utterance

Fri, 11/29/2013 - 09:30 -- bbodhi

We have come to our final selection in the Teaching of the Buddha blog series. In today's sutta, the Buddha challenges the Venerable Sāriputta’s “bellowing utterance” by asking him whether he fully knows the moral discipline, qualities (perhaps concentration), wisdom, meditative dwellings, and liberation of the Buddhas of the past, present, and future. To this the great disciple can only answer in the negative.

Teachings of the Buddha: The Planes of Realization and Seven Kinds of Noble Persons

Thu, 11/28/2013 - 09:30 -- bbodhi

The Nikayas occasionally employ another scheme for classifying noble disciples, one that makes the dominant faculty rather than the level of attainment alone the basis for differentiation. The main source for this scheme is a passage in the Kīṭāgiri Sutta, below. This method of classification divides arahants into two categories: those liberated in both ways and those liberated by wisdom.

Teachings of the Buddha: The Planes of Realization and In the Dhamma Well Expounded

Wed, 11/27/2013 - 09:30 -- bbodhi

On entering the irreversible path to the attainment of Nibbana, one becomes a noble person (ariyapuggala), the word “noble” (ariya) here denoting spiritual nobility. There are four major types of noble persons. Each stage is divided into two phases: the path (magga) and its fruition (phala). The four main stages themselves are defined in two ways: (1) by way of the defilements eradicated by the path leading to the corresponding fruit; and (2) by way of the destiny after death that awaits one who has realized that particular fruit.